President Matthew Derr, VT government and academic leaders sign joint statement on diversity, equity, and inclusion

A number of Vermont education and business leaders, joined by Governor Peter Shumlin and Governor-elect Phil Scott, released the following statement.

Joint Statement in Support of Diversity, Equity, & Inclusiveness 

Vermont has fought for centuries for freedom and unity, equity and openness. Vermont remains a beacon of hope and opportunity, community and shared humanity. Vermont was the first to commit to the abolition of slavery in our state constitution and a leader in the fight for marriage equality. We will continue to support all Vermonters and welcome people of all backgrounds to the Green Mountain state.

We, the undersigned, condemn any acts of unlawful discrimination, violence, and intimidation that target differences in national origin, race, sex, gender, religion, disability, or political viewpoint across our nation. Such acts run counter to the rights and freedoms upon which our country was founded and to the core values of the state of Vermont.

Vermont is committed to fostering welcoming communities and an equitable, diverse, and inclusive society.


Governor Peter Shumlin                           Governor-elect Phil Scott


Lisa M. Ventriss, President Vermont Business Roundtable

Gregory Dewey, President Albany College of Pharmacy

Mariko Silver, President Bennington College

David Wolk, President Castleton University

Michelle Ollie, President Center for Cartoon Studies

Don Laackman, President Champlain College

Lawrence Jensen, Interim President College of Saint Joseph

Joyce Judy, President Community College of Vermont

Robert Kenny, President Goddard College

Robert Allen, President Green Mountain College

Elaine Collins, President Johnson State College

Peter Eden, President Landmark College

Nolan Atkins, Interim President Lyndon State College

Kevin Quigley, President Marlboro College

Laurie Patton, President Middlebury College

Richard Schneider, President Norwich University

Donald Steinberg, President SIT Graduate Institute

David Rees Evans, President Southern Vermont College

Matthew Derr, President Sterling College

John Neuhauser, President Saint Michael’s College

Tom Sullivan, President University of Vermont

Roger H. Sublett, President Union Institute and University

Marc B. Mihaly, President and Dean Vermont Law School

Thomas Greene, President Vermont College of Fine Arts

Jeb Spaulding, Chancellor Vermont State Colleges

Patricia Moulton, Interim President Vermont Technical College

Scott Giles, President & CEO Vermont Student Assistance Corporation

Filed Under: Blog Newsroom

Social Media

Connect with Sterling College